Update: 13/06/2006 Problem solved Ok I got an SMS telling me the service has been fixed. It has now been working for the last two weeks efficiently. Credit goes to Vodacom for fixing it, however it has taken some time and perhaps their communication could have been a bit better. Now that it works, I am loving the speed. Apparently we were one of the first country’s in teh world to get the HSDPA upgrade. Go South Africa.

Update: 09/06/2006 Still no contact so I wrote an email asking them to come back to me about beginning of this week. Yep, its Friday and have not heard from them. Not terribly efficient service. Vodacom are lucky that they have a such a good product from Vodafone… its a pity they cannot back up the good product by service. I’ll post here if they ever get back to me.

Update: 30/05/2006 It appears that Vodacom fixed whatever problem seemed to be occuring because i now get regular access again. Haven’t received a mail from them confirming this, nor the promised contact from the local network operator guy… maybe I am wrong to expect world class efficiency from company that makes millions in profits.

Written earlier 20/05/2006
Apparently South Africa’s Vodacom is the second biggest network in the worldwide Vodafone group, beating even its own network in the UK.

But I’d like to ask: Is Vodacom the network of choice any longer in South Africa? I have a new HSDPA 3G card (generously traded in by Vodacom for free) and I never seem to be able to connect at certain periods of the evening. I constantly get error 619 or error 31. I used to have the Novatell card and never had a problem from my house in Linden. But ever since changing to the HSDPA card, I have had error after error. Admittedly a friend of mine who also uses an HSDPA card says he does not have any problems.

I suspect they have network congestion because at other parts of the day I generally don’t have problems. The GPRS connection works faultlessly. Vodacom says it is a problem with a reception tower near my house and that the guy in charge there will contact me, but they can’t or won’t tell me when. So I am just left here guessing and paying for a service I can’t really use.

What is more is that I contacted them first in April and now it is May 20. I have sent numerous mails (see some of correspondence below) and doesnt look like we are getting any closer? Then we hear on Friday that the whole Vodacom network failed, which they blamed Cell C for who shares the network with them. Cell C have come out with a vigorous denial.

Check the correspondence below with Vodacom so far. They cannot even give me a timeframe on when to fix this and it has already been a month! I’ll post the resolution here should it ever come — anyone else have any problems?

—–Original Message—–

Dear MattThank you for your e-mail.Unfortunately, we cannot provide you with a time period. We have requested that the Network Co-ordinator provide you with a status update as soon as possible.Should you have any further queries, please contact us via e-mail at customercare@vodacom.co.za. Warm RegardsRiyadh Currie Email Contact Centre

—–Original Message—–

From: XXX@mail.comSent: 2006/05/19 07:11:34 PMTo: Vodacom Customer CareSubject: Re: Re: Re: Re: 3G hi therethen how long must i wait for resolution on this if you cannot give mea timeframe. surely you should at least be able to give me some kindof timeframe otherwise i am just left guessing hereregardsmatt

On 5/19/06, Vodacom Customer Care wrote:> Dear MattThank you for your e-mail.We have again requested feedback from the relevant supplier today. I cannot provide you with an exact date or time as to when Yusuf will be contacting you, but he has confirmed that he will be contacting you as soon as any feedback is available.Should you have any further queries, please contact us via e-mail at customercare@vodacom.co.za. Warm RegardsNaasir GalantEmail Contact Centre

—–Original Message—–

From: XXX@mail.comSent: 2006/05/18 06:34:51 PMTo: Vodacom Customer CareSubject: Re: Re: Re: 3G hi therethanks for your reply.when will Yusuf be contacting me?what timeframe do u have for resolving the linden tower issue?CheersMatt

On 5/18/06, Vodacom Customer Care wrote:> Dear MatthewThank you for your e-mail.I”ve liaised with one of network consultants, namely, Yusuf XXXXXX, who confirmed that the problem with tower in Linden is still problematic. This is currently in hand with the relevant person/s responsible. We apologies for all inconvenience caused. Yusuf will contact you with relevant feedback as soon as there is any available.Should you have any further queries, please contact us via e-mail at customercare@vodacom.co.za. Warm RegardsNaasir GalantEmail Contact Centre

—–Original Message—–

From: XXX@mail.comSent: 2006/05/18 08:12:04 AMTo: Vodacom Customer CareSubject: Re: Re: 3G hi therea consultant (andre) said he passed my query on to the network guys. IAM STILL WAITING on now it is May 18. I am paying for a service that Icannot use. Please can I have a response and some help from Vodacom.regards, one very unhappy and ignored customerMatthew

On 5/3/06, Vodacom Customer Care wrote:> Dear MatthewThank you for your e-mail.I have requested a further feedback from our data consultants. The reference number is A3-SWBK-KPXQShould you have any further queries, please contact us via e-mail at customercare@vodacom.co.za. Warm RegardsNaasir GalantEmail Contact Centre

—–Original Message—–

From: XXX@mail.comSent: 2006/05/02 12:09:57 PMTo: Vodacom Customer CareSubject: Re: 3G hi siphothanks for yr maili am XX Xth street linden. (note that i never had a reception problemwith 3G via the novatell card from this address).it is a datacard not a cellphone so i dont know what the nearest mastis. my number is 082XXXXXXX; my sim number is: 8XXXXXXXXXXXXXX1_Gyou can contact me on 084 XXX XXXX or 011 XXXXXXX or 011 XXXXXXX, buti will be in london until saturday so it will have to either be today(tuesday) or next week.the 3g/hsdpa work perfectly fine during day. it also works in roebankarea… just at night it appears to be a problemthanksmatt

On 5/2/06, Vodacom Customer Care wrote:> Dear Matthew BucklandThank you for your e-mail.We are sorry to hear of the circumstances under which your e-mail has reached us. Please forward us your exact location i.e. physical address. Do you have “cell info” or “cell broadcast” activated on your phone? If so, which transmitter shows on your screen? Please also provide us with your hsdpa cellphone/SIM card number and your alternative contact number.We await your feedback so that we can attend to your problem in the most efficient and effective manner.Should you have any further queries, please contact us via e-mail at customercare@vodacom.co.za. Warm RegardsSipho TutsheniEmail Contact Centre

—–Original Message—–

From: XXX@mail.comSent: 2006/05/01 23:11:50To: Vodacom Customer CareSubject: 3G Name: Matthew BucklandTel. No.:084XXXXXXEmail Address: XXX@mail.comhi there, ever since i changed to hsdpa card i have had non stop problems. I think you are having severe network overload problems and i would like help and an explanation please:I get error 31, then error 619 persistently. i am on windows XP, I am using the software version 6.0 and using windows XP; firmware 3.15.0Hd Globetrotter. I am based in Linden, Johannesburg.1. it only happens during certain times of day…ie at night it is impossible to get on…2. i get the error persistently. i have uninstalled the old version, and even formatted my entire drive to install a fresh version yet i still get the error.3. I can log on via GPRS perfectly well, but not 3G during these times…4. when i do manage to get on, i am often disconnected after about 1-5mins or soI phoned for help on april 24 yet no one has got back to me — it is may 2 now…Can someone please help me. regardsmatthew buckland>

5 Responses to “Vodacom HSDPA 3G problems”
  1. Inject adderall….

    Adderall xr….

  2. Tamoxifen….

    Tamoxifen. Tamoxifen side effects….

  3. All i can advise you is be persistent and they will eventually sort the problem out. Took me about 5 phonecalls and about 8 emails and almost a month later — not terribly hot service… but i suppose they eventually sorted it out. To be honest I never got a straight answer with regards to what the error 619 and error 31 was about.

    Oh and by the way, for the month I couldn’t use HSDPA — i still had to pay them…

  4. I’ve just signed my two year contract with vodacom – 4 days ago, and i still haven’t experienced the joys of hspda. gprs works fine.

    what exactly is the problem that vodacom is experiencing?

  5. I am also having the same problem! I upgraded to the new HSDPA card and since Thurs 15 June have been unable to get a 3G/HSDPA connection – GPRS works fine. I agree that it is ridiculous to pay for a service which does not deliver!

    To whom do I address my questions and comments at Vodacom?

    Thanks for an informative post.

Comments are closed.